Press Releases

Press release, 10/27/2015

Gerda Henkel Foundation on the lookout for outstanding humanities scholars

Announcement of the Gerda Henkel Prize 2016

Researchers can now be nominated for the international Gerda Henkel Prize. The Gerda Henkel Foundation invites universities as well as cultural and academic institutions worldwide to nominate suitable candidates. The competition is aimed at outstanding scholars of the following disciplines: Archaeology, Art History, Historical Islamic Studies, History, History of Law, History of Science, and Prehistory and Early History. In addition, Head Office will also accept proposals from the areas of the Gerda Henkel Foundation special programmes “Islam, the Modern Nation State and Transnational Movements” and “Security, Society and the State”. Further funding priorities for the Gerda Henkel Foundation are young humanities scholars in Africa and Southeast Asia as well as the preservation of cultural heritage, particularly in crisis regions. The deadline for nominations is 15 January 2016. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros and is awarded every other year. The awards ceremony will take place on 7 November 2016 in Düsseldorf.

The Gerda Henkel Foundation’s Board of Trustees will decide on the winner based on a recommendation from the jury. The following are members of the Board of Trustees: Julia Schulz-Dornburg (Chair, Barcelona), Prof. Hans-Joachim Gehrke (Vice Chair, Freiburg), Martin Kobler (Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo), Prof. Ulrich Lehner (Düsseldorf) and Dr. Michael Muth (Munich). The jury headed by Prof. Peter Funke (Münster) consists of the members of the Foundation’s Academic Advisory Council and independent persons: Prof. Andreas Beyer (Basel), Prof. Ute Daniel (Braunschweig), Prof. Andreas Eckert (Berlin), Prof. Martin Jehne (Dresden), Prof. Hermann Parzinger (Berlin), Prof. Sabine Schmidtke (Princeton, USA), Prof. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger (Münster), Prof. Bo Stråth (Helsinki, Finland), Prof. Marcel van der Linden (Amsterdam, the Netherlands).

Previous Gerda Henkel Prize winners are egyptologist Prof. Stephan Seidlmayer, historian Prof. Jürgen Osterhammel, Islam scholar Prof. Gudrun Krämer, sociologist and cultural historian Prof. Richard Sennett and art historian Prof. Martin Warnke.

Further information:


Gerda Henkel Foundation, Press Office
Dr. Sybille Wüstemann
Tel.: 0211-93 65 24 0