Press Releases

Press Release, 10/19/2017

Nominations now invited for the Gerda Henkel Prize 2018

The Gerda Henkel Foundation announces the Gerda Henkel Prize 2018. The Foundation invites scholars of universities worldwide, as well as renowned cultural and academic institutions, to nominate qualified candidates by January 19, 2018. With immediate effect, it is possible to nominate excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation and can be expected to continue to do so. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros and is awarded every two years. Last year the award went to the historian Prof. Lyndal Roper from Oxford, England.

The Gerda Henkel Foundation primarily supports the historical humanities. The Foundation accepts proposals for researchers in the disciplines Archaeology, Art History, Historical Islamic Studies, History, History of Law, History of Science, and Prehistory and Early History. In addition, nominations relating to the current and future-oriented special programmes “Islam, the Modern Nation State and Transnational Movements”, and "Security, Society and the State” are possible. The Gerda Henkel Foundation also supports young scholars in the humanities in both Africa and Southeast Asia. With its “Patrimonies” funding initiative it is also committed to the preservation of cultural heritage, specifically in regions experiencing crisis.

The Gerda Henkel Foundation's Board of Trustees makes the final decision as to who should receive the prize based on a recommendation submitted by the jury. The following are members of the Board of Trustees: Julia Schulz-Dornburg (Chair, Barcelona, Spain), Prof. Hans-Joachim Gehrke (Deputy Chair, Freiburg), Ambassador Martin Kobler (Islamabad, Pakistan), Prof. Ulrich Lehner (Düsseldorf), and Andreas Schmitz (Düsseldorf). The jury, chaired by Prof. Peter Funke (Münster), consists of members of the Foundation’s Academic Advisory Council and independent persons: Prof. Ute Daniel (Braunschweig), Prof. Andreas Eckert (Berlin), Prof. Peter Geimer (Berlin), Prof. Martin Jehne (Dresden), Prof. Hermann Parzinger (Berlin), Prof. Sabine Schmidtke (Princeton, USA), Prof. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger (Münster), Prof. Bo Stråth (Helsinki, Finland) and Prof. Marcel van der Linden (Amsterdam, Netherlands).

The Gerda Henkel Foundation is awarding the Gerda Henkel Prize for the seventh time. The prize-giving ceremony will be held on October 8, 2018 in Düsseldorf. For further information please visit

Gerda Henkel Foundation press office
Dr Sybille Wüstemann
Telephone +49 (0)211 93 65 24 0
Telefax +49 (0)211 93 65 24 44