Press Releases

Press release, 10/26/2011

Gerda Henkel Foundation invites nominations for the Gerda Henkel Prize 2012

The Gerda Henkel Foundation is inviting nominations of scholars for the Gerda Henkel Prize 2012. The deadline for receipt by the Foundation’s administrative office of nominations of outstanding researchers in the area of archaeology, history, historical Islamic studies, history of art, history of law, and prehistory and early history is 31 January 2012. Nominations can also be for persons engaged in the areas the Foundation supports, namely “conflict research” and “Islam, the modern nation state and transnational movements”. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros and has been bestowed every two years since 2006. The prize is destined to strengthen the specialist areas supported by the Gerda Henkel Foundation and raise awareness of topics that would otherwise not be at the center of public attention. The official prize-giving ceremony is scheduled for 29 October 2012 in Düsseldorf.

The winner is chosen by the Board of Trustees of the Gerda Henkel Foundation on the basis of a recommendation by the jury. The Board of Trustees is made up of Julia Schulz-Dornburg (Chairperson, Barcelona), Prof. Meinhard Miegel (Deputy Chairperson, Bonn), Prof. Hans-Joachim Gehrke (Freiburg), Prof. Ulrich Lehner (Düsseldorf), Dr. Michael Muth (Munich) and Dr. Hans-Dietrich Winkhaus (honorary member, Düsseldorf). The jury is chaired by Prof. Wolfgang Frühwald (Augsburg) and comprises members from the Foundation’s Academic Advisory Committee: Prof. Andreas Beyer (Paris), Prof. Willibald Steinmetz (Bielefeld), Prof. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger (Münster) and Prof. Martin Zimmermann (Munich) as well as independent outstanding minds from the worlds of science and politics. Prof. Bo Stråth (Helsinki), who has been on the jury since 2009 will this year be joined by two new members, Dr. Franziska Augstein (Munich) and Prof. Hermann Parzinger (Berlin).

Previous winners of the Gerda Henkel Prize include Berlin-based expert on Islam Prof. Gudrun Krämer (2010), New York sociologist and cultural historian Prof. Richard Sennett (2008) and Hamburg art historian Prof. Martin Warnke (2006).

Further information on the Gerda Henkel Prize and the nomination procedure can be found on the Internet under:

Gerda Henkel Foundation
Press Office
Dr. Sybille Wüstemann
Tel: +49-211-93 65 24 0