Recipients of the Gerda Henkel Prize

Recipient in 2020

Prof. Lorraine Daston (Berlin)
History of Science

“Historian of science Lorraine Jenifer Daston is one of the most internationally acclaimed representatives of the discipline...

Recipient in 2018

Prof Achille Mbembe (Johannesburg)
Politics, History

"Achille Mbembe (born in 1957) is one of the leading representatives of post-colonial theory world-wide...

Recipient in 2016

Prof Lyndal Roper (Oxford)
Early Modern History

“Australian-British historian Lyndal Roper, Regius Professor of History at the University of Oxford, is one of the world’s most renowned historians of Early Modern times...

Recipient in 2014

Prof Stephan Seidlmayer (Cairo, Berlin)

“Egyptologist Prof Stephan Seidlmayer is one of the most renowned representatives of his discipline at an international level. Director of the Cairo Department at the German Archaeological Institute since 2009, ...

Recipient in 2012

Prof Jürgen Osterhammel (Konstanz)
Modern and Contemporary History

“Jürgen Osterhammel (born 1952) has decisively contributed to reinstating the world-historical perspective in German history not only in the theory, but also the practice of historiography. In an extensive series of monographs (which have also been translated into Chinese, Japanese, Korean and English), ...

Recipient in 2010

Prof Gudrun Krämer (Berlin)
Islamic Studies

“Gudrun Krämer is an historian known for her well-researched sources, sound methodology and linguistic clarity. She investigates, illustrates and elucidates, critically and yet with obvious affection for her research field, the history, culture, ...

Recipient in 2008

Prof Richard Sennett (London, New York)
Sociology, Cultural History

“Richard Sennett is one of today’s leading thinkers. In his widely read books, he effortlessly transcends the boundaries of the humanities, in particular the disciplines of sociology and history, psychology and philosophy. While his immense knowledge and his theoretical consciousness show he is a true academic, his life experience, ...

Recipient in 2006

Prof Martin Warnke (Hamburg)
Art History

The foundation’s board of trustees based their decision for Prof. Warnke on the recommendation of an independent jury under Prof. Dr Lord Ralf Dahrendorf. In his opinion, “the Gerda Henkel Prize shows that humanities do not produce less significant figures and important insight as other disciplines. The first prize recipient, Martin Warnke, ...